Get a Job, Aleady


unemployment-line
Business Blogs

And indeed there will be time
To wonder, “Do I dare?” and, “Do I dare?”
… Do I dare
Disturb the universe?
In a minute there is time
For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.
T.S. Eliot

I  feel like I am in the bread line of life.  So, I have decided to return to work after 5 years as a stay-at-home mom.  The recession has hit us too, and I know  my family will benefit if I return to work.   But, can I?  Can I be successful in 24 months?

This is what I was thinking about in March, 2009,  when I went to a National Charity League training seminar.  After sitting through an informative and thought provoking presentation about club goal setting,  I wondered if I had the stuff to set my own goals.

I went through the goal setting process and thought, I don’t have any assets….only weaknesses.  I don’t have any work skills anymore….just “mom” skills.  I have ideas, but I don’t know how to make them happen   Finally, in April, I was waiting for my daughter to finish a golf tournament.  I must admit that I had walked along for 18 holes, but didn’t have the stuff to walk 18 more.  So I decided, that I would rather set goals…. that should tell you how much I did not want to walk.

Now, as I sat in the golf course  coffee shop, I tried to focus on myself.  Surrounded by all the kids and moms and the scoreboard, I was transported and for the first time I  was able to look at myself analytically and fairly.  Surprise!  I actually have some assets and not so many weaknesses.  My biggest list was things I had to do.   So, no more waiting for something to happen.  I had to happen.  This process led to my plan of action.

The method I used was pretty simple. I have included the goal setting format, so you can  take a real appraisal of yourself, too.

Goal Setting:

1.  Write a goal – this is a mission statement for your life.  An example,

” Lead a life of family, health, community,etc, that leads to a high level of personal satisfaction and a comfortable retirement….”

2.  List your assets – this is everything you have or own…for example: hard working, state your education achievements, stable marriage, community organization affiliations, etc.

3.  List your vulnerabilities – these are your weaknesses or shortcomings. For example: lack of patience, tends to procrastinate, lack of confidence, etc.   These are areas that you will work to correct to fulfill your action plan.

4.  Supplies and Needs – Make a 3 column list.  Headings are:  Who does it /What’s needed / When.   In this list you are determining what you will have to acquire – example : Real Estate License,  workout schedule,  planner, etc.

5.  Action Plan – Make a 3 column list. Headings are: Who/What/ When.  For example: What- Lose 30 pounds – Who-me; When – by December.

This type of goal setting process forces you to look at your assets and weaknesses/vulnerabilities  and determine what needs to be added to your life to achieve action.  But, you will be surprised.   Most of the time what you need is in place.  What is left is for you to act.

2 thoughts on “Get a Job, Aleady

Leave a Reply

